No more tomorrows

Last week I wrote about innovations and how they come into existence. There is one big obstacle that has to be overcome in order to make innovations happen: things simply need to get done. This is no big deal for some individuals who have the enviable ability to start working on tasks on time and finish them with minimum stress and maximum quality of work. And then there are the less lucky people (like me) who find themselves working on their tasks at 3 am just hours before the deadline. Case in point: I’m writing this post at shortly before 1 am (Finnish time, though).

 

Determined to kick the bad habit of procrastinating I read the book “The Now Habit” by Neil Fiore. It presents a program with several methods to quit procrastinating and replace the “tomorrows” with “nows”. I won’t try to present a 200-page manual in one blog post but I’ll try to give a simple overview of it.

 

The Methods

 

  1. Replacing the negative self-talk. An integral part in quitting procrastinating is replacing the “I should” with “I will” and the “I have to” with “I choose to”.
  2. Letting go of perfectionism.
  3. Scheduling backwards: starting with scheduling sufficiently time for the basic tasks you have to do (laundry, cooking, shopping etc.) and then using the time left (which wil probablyl be less than you expected) to schedule 30 minute periods of quality work.
  4. Scheduling enough time for guilt-free play.

 

Ironically, I read the book and now I’m procrastinating on starting to apply the methods into my life. The difficult part in my opinion is the fact that there will always be distractions which try to mess with your 30 minutes of quality work. Image

 

Even though books rarely change lives miraculously, it may pay to read the book if you would like to get rid of your mañana mentality.

 

Leave a Reply

